5th Category

Sometimes an individual can be eligible for regional center services for the 5th category.  While the 5th category is not a diagnosis, it means that a person has a condition that is closely related to intellectual disability or requires treatment similar to a person with intellectual disability. They may have difficulties with learning, problem solving, and functioning in daily life. Like all developmental disabilities, this condition can start anytime before the age of 18 and cannot be solely due to physical causes, psychiatric causes, or a learning disability.

How Can SCLARC Help?

SCLARC is a resource provider for individuals with developmental disabilities and their families.

We provide:

  • Intake Assessment
  • Evaluations
  • Trainings
  • Case Management Services

South Central Los Angeles Regional Center (SCLARC) provides education, assessment, training and services in the communities of South Los Angeles, Watts, Leimert Park, Florence/Firestone, West Adams, and the cities of Bell, Bell Gardens, Compton, Cudahy, Downey, Huntington Park, Lynwood, Maywood, Vernon, South Gate, North Carson, Gardena, and Paramount.